About the Board Members

Are you interested in serving on the State Personnel Board?

  • The Board is comprised of five members: two are elected by certified state employees and three are appointed by the Governor.
  • Each member of the Board must be a qualified elector of the state and may not be an officer or employee of the state or of any state employee organization.
  • Board members serve three-year, overlapping terms and may succeed themselves once.
  • Board terms conclude on the last day of the fiscal year, June 30, and new terms start on the first day of the new fiscal year, July 1.

Vacancies occurring for elected positions on the Board are announced in advance to employees in all departments of the State of Colorado and information is posted on the State Personnel Board website. In order to be on the ballot for an elected position, eligible candidates must obtain a minimum of 50 verified signatures of certified state employees on official petitions. Certified employees vote electronically for their candidate of choice. The candidate obtaining the most votes is certified as elected to the Board.

Vacancies occurring for appointed positions on the Board are filled by the governor. Individuals interested in a gubernatorial appointment to the Board must submit an application to the Governor's office of Boards and Commissions. Gubernatorial appointees are confirmed by Senate committee when the legislature returns to session in January.

Board Member History


Gov. Appointment

Gov. Appointment

Gov. Appointment (Art. XII, § 14(2)(b))



Current Members

F. Robert Lee
First term: 11/24/2021 to 6/30/2023

Kimberley Dempster
First term: 11/24/2021 to 6/30/2023

Sarah Wager
Second term: 7/1/2022 to 6/30/2025

Euell Thomas
First term: 7/1/2022 to 6/30/2025

David Ruchman
First term: 7/1/2021 to 6/30/2024

Previous Members

Karen Niparko
7/1/2020 to 11/10/2021

Roxane White
7/1/2020 to 9/13/2021

Sarah Wager
First term: 7/1/2019 to 6/30/2022

Patricia Bangert
7/1/2019 to 6/30/2022

Nora Kelly
7/1/2015 to 6/30/2021


Michelle Palmquist
7/1/2014 to 6/30/2020

Maurice Knaizer
7/1/2017 to 6/30/2020

Neil Peck
7/1/2013 to 6/30/2019

Vonda Hall
7/1/2013 to 6/30/2019

Sally Yerger
7/1/2010 to 6/30/2015



Kimberley Dempster

On November 24, 2021, Governor Jared Polis appointed Kimberley Dempster to complete a term ending on June 30, 2023.  Ms. Dempster is an attorney with the small in-house legal team at NGL Energy Partners LP.  She is a member of the Asian Pacific American Bar Association of Colorado, where she served as Secretary for five years.  She also served on as a member of the Executive Council of the Colorado Bar Association.

Kimberley has a Bachelor's degree from Christopher Newport University and a J.D. from the University of Denver's Sturm College of Law. 

F. Robert Lee

On November 24, 2021, Governor Jared Polis appointed F. Robert Lee to complete a term ending on June 30, 2023.  Mr. Lee is a real estate broker with Kentwood Company.  He is serving his fifth term on the Board of Directors of the Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District.  He served a Chief of Staff to Governor Bill Owens and as the Director of the Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade.

Bob is a graduate of Regis University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration.

David Ruchman

David was first elected to the State Personnel Board for a term beginning on July 1, 2021, after being nominated in an uncontested statewide nomination. His first term ends on June 30, 2024.

David is a retired state employee who served as a Hearing Officer for the Colorado Department of Revenue.  His experience includes serving on the Regional Transportation Board of Directors and on the First Judicial District Judicial Performance Commission.  He also served on the Planning Commission and Park Board for Colorado Springs.

David has a Bachelor's degree from Johns Hopkins University, a Master's degree from Stanford University, and a J.D. from the University of Denver's Sturm College of Law.

Euell Thomas

Euell Thomas was first elected to the State Personnel Board for a term beginning on July 1, 2022, after being nominated in an uncontested statewide nomination. His first term ends on June 30, 2025.

Euell is a Staff Attorney for the Colorado Education Association, where he represents union members in labor, employment and collective bargaining matters.  Euell has litigated in numerous administrative settings, as well as in state and federal court.  Euell’s past work history includes the Western Area Law Department of the United States Postal Service, the U.S. Small Business Administration Office of Disaster Assistance, and the Livelihood Law Firm.

Euell received a Juris Doctor from the University of Colorado Boulder School of Law.  He received an undergraduate degree in Philosophy from Hendrix College.

Sarah Wager

In June 2022, Governor Jared Polis reappointed Sarah K. Wager to the State Personnel Board for a second three-year term.  Her second term is from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025.

Sarah is the Director of Internal Audit for the Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA). She has 23 years of experience in state government having previously worked in the Colorado Department of Human Services as Interim Director/Deputy Director of the Office of Administrative Solutions and the Acting Director/Deputy Director of the Office of Community Access and Independence. Prior to DHS, she worked for the Colorado Office of the State Auditor as an Audit Manager.

A graduate of the University of Colorado-Denver with a Bachelor's degree in Accounting, Sarah is also licensed as a Certified Public Accountant. She is a current member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Colorado Society of Certified Public Accountants. In 2016 she was awarded the Leadership and Innovation Award from the Office of Community Access and Independence and in 2015 was a participant in the Governor's Performance Management Academy.