
Discrimination Claims 
Section 24-50-125.3, C.R.S. 

Board Rule 8-25, et seq. 
 

If an employee or job applicant seeks to have an allegation of discrimination reviewed by the State Personnel Board 
(Board), that person must file a petition for hearing within 10 days of the alleged discriminatory action or receipt of 
any final written decision. 

Upon receipt of an appeal or petition for hearing on matters covered by the Colorado Anti-Discrimination Act, the 
Board will refer the matter to the Colorado Civil Rights Division (CCRD) for investigation and issue a Notice of Referral. 

If the employee/applicant wants the CCRD to investigate the discrimination claim, the person must file a discrimination 
charge with the CCRD within 20 days of the date of the certificate of service of the Notice of Referral.  Verification of 
filing with the CCRD must be sent to the Board within 10 days. 

CCRD completes its 
investigation within 270 
days.  Extensions of this 

time period may be 
granted. 

Employee/applicant 
waives CCRD 
investigation. 

Employee/applicant files charge of 
discrimination with CCRD, and 

verification of filing with the Board. 

CCRD issues finding of Probable 
Cause or No Probable Cause. 

The party must file an appeal of the 
CCRD finding (Probable Cause or No 

Probable Cause) within 10 days. 

Is there a Mandatory Right for 
Evidentiary Hearing? 

Yes No 

The Board conducts a Preliminary Review 
to grant or deny a Discretionary Hearing. 

Case is set for an 
Evidentiary Hearing. 


