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Colorado State Personnel Board Process 
 

 
 
 
Timely Employee Appeal (10 days)   Timely Employee Petition (10 days) 
    (mandatory hearing process)     (discretionary hearing process) 

 
             Information Sheets submitted 

 
       

Standard:  Board Rule 8-50(G) and C.R.S. § 24-50-123:   
Complainant has the burden of demonstrating that there is an 
evidentiary and legal basis that would support a finding that 
decision was contrary to rule or law, and that the relief requested 
is “within the Board’s statutory authority.” 
 
 

 

       
 

Discovery Process  
Pre-Hearing Statements Filed 

 
 
 

Burden of Proof – State APA:  “Proponent of an order shall have the burden of proof”  C.R.S. § 24-4-105(7). 
In discipline cases, agency has burden – Dept. of Inst. v. Kinchen, 886 P.2d 700 (Colo. 1994);  in other appeals, employee has burden. 

 
 
 

Standard: whether the action of the appointing authority is “arbitrary, capricious, or contrary to rule or law.”  C.R.S. § 24-50-103(6). 
See also Lawley v. Dept. of Higher Ed., 36 P.3d 1239 (Colo. 2001)(defining arbitrary and capricious governmental action) 

 
For attorney fees:  personnel action  or appeal was “instituted frivolously, in bad faith, maliciously, or as a means of harassment or was 

otherwise groundless.” C.R.S. § 24-50-125.5(1). 
 

Notice of Appeal (Exceptions) filed        No Notice of Appeal filed 
        (and, no Board vote to review) 

Designation of Record Briefs filed by parties 

  
      
 

Standard:  Findings of evidentiary fact are not to be set aside  
unless “contrary to the weight of the evidence”  C.R.S. § 24-4-105(15)(b). 

 
 

Standard:  SPB findings of ultimate fact may be reversed on appeal only if unsupported by any competent evidence or based on an incorrect 
legal conclusion applied to the underlying facts.  Barrett v. Univ. of Colo., 851 P.2d 258 (Colo.App. 1993). 

 

 
 

Appointing Authority Decision 

 

Appeal as of Right – Colorado Court of Appeals – C.A.R. 3 

 

Preliminary Recommendation Issued 

 

Board Orders Hearing or Dismissal 

Board Sets Hearing 

Initial Decision Issued—45 days from closure of the record 
 

Initial Decision adopted as SPB Final Agency 
Order   (End of Process) SPB Final Agency Order 

 

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Colorado Supreme Court – C.A.R. 50 
 

Commencement of Hearing  
(within 90 days from date of appeal; no more than 120 days with good cause) 

 


